Who Am I?

May is Asian Pacific American Heritage Month and it’s ending. To be honest, throughout the month, I really didn’t think much about it. Every now and then, I would see a poster about a local APAHM event or I would come across a blog post about APAHM but that’s about it. It’s interesting how that works. In a way, that is exactly what people are talking about when they say that your culture and heritage are an inseparable part of you, a shadow that you’re so used to you don’t even notice it following you around.

Today is the last day of APAHM and I came across a video from Nickelodeon highlighting a diverse spectrum of those who identify as Asian Pacific American from the blog, Angry Asian Man. After watching the video, I felt like I was hearing about the childhood experiences I’ve had growing up as an Asian American. I was touched and surprised that Nickelodeon would produce a segment like this – one that really showcased real-life Asian Americans and talked about real-life Asian American issues that we face. I think this is the first time I’ve seen something like this on mainstream television, and it’s absolutely awesome!

One of the issues I think almost every kid talks about in the segment is about language. Some speak the language of their heritage, some only speak English, and some speak a mixture of both. They talk about the languages their parents speak and the barriers they face when trying to communicate with their parents. Again, this is exactly what my childhood was like and it’s so amazing to see that aspect of growing up as an Asian American highlighted in this show. Props to Nickelodeon for producing it.

Here’s the link to the video: Nick News: “Who Am I”

Leave a Reply

