ETC: Anne’s Essay Results

10-07-2010

Anne has received the grade for the first paper we’ve gone over together and she received a C. To be honest, I was rather surprised and disappointed in myself. Naturally, I made sure that before she turned in her essay, we had gone over the key issues that needed to be fixed. I felt like the essay she turned in was decent and would at least earn her a high B.

My first reaction to her grade was that the teacher was grading a lot tougher than I had expected. I read over the comments she wrote on Anne’s essay and they were valid remarks. Yet, for a First Year Composition class, I thought the expectations for the class would be lower.

I asked Anne if she was disappointed and she

I think from this, I’ve realized several things about tutoring.

  1. It’s important to understand the teacher’s expectations. I think this could have been done by visiting her office hours or looking at her course syllabus.
  2. To take it as a learning experience, for both the student and the tutor. Even if the student does get a bad grade, it’s probably most productive to see what mistakes she made and how they can be improved for the next essay.

Though in our tutoring sessions Anne seemed quite unaffected by the grade, I hope that her results for the next essay will be better, for the sake of her confidence as well as mine.

3 thoughts on “ETC: Anne’s Essay Results

  1. Hi Erika,

    I’m an instructor in the English Department. I don’t know anything about your tutee or what class she is in, but I’d like to make some general comments about grades and student expectations. Many times students are sent to tutoring by the instructor because s/he is worried about the student passing the class. A “C” would actually be a good grade in that situation. Also, grades at the beginning of the semester tend to be lower as students are still learning instructor’s expectations–a “C” can help a student understand that she needs to work harder on the subsequent assignments. Finally, when I give back essays, I always ask my class, “What’s a good grade?” Students always say, “A!” so then I tell them that an “A” is actually a grade for an EXCELLENT paper and thus is difficult to get. “B” is a good grade, and “C” is average. Tutors can help students understand that high grades are not easy to get, even for the strongest students. Hope this information is helpful!

    Like

    1. Hi Maureen,

      Now I know why your name seemed so familiar when you led the English 726 workshop in the beginning of the semester! I hadn’t realized even when you started subbing for Prof. Keck that you were the one who had commented on my blog! Thanks for your comment. Tutoring in itself has been quite a journey. I feel like with every new student, new class, and new issue I am presented with, I learn something new about how to help students. Grades and student expectations certainly come up EVERY time, especially now that I’m TAing for a class and I’m addressing their whole semester grade instead of just one essay grade. It just keeps getting better doesn’t it? Haha…

      -Eric

      Like

  2. Totally Agreed with your both points mentioned here about tutoring:
    It’s important to understand the teacher’s expectations. I think this could have been done by visiting her office hours or looking at her course syllabus.
    To take it as a learning experience, for both the student and the tutor. Even if the student does get a bad grade, it’s probably most productive to see what mistakes she made and how they can be improved for the next essay.

    Like

Leave a Reply

